top of page

Using CORPUS to Create an Inductive Teaching Material

Hey there, are you excited for my freshly designed teaching material? I am!

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, we've been not seeing each other with our instructor lately, so I had plenty of time to design my material. Yet I am still a student, preparing a task as a teacher kind of confused me in the first place but I guess it's a good chance to learn how to do it.

So basically, what we were supposed to do was creating corpus-based inductive teaching material. First, we needed to choose a topic that can be confusing for students. I chose the topic ''Causatives'' since the student I'm tutoring had trouble learning that earlier. I prepared a worksheet that I believed to be beneficial for students to discover the rule themselves. Doing so will help them comprehend the topic.

The aim of using a corpus is to let students see the real-life uses of certain topics and I think it's really important for them to know how to use it in a social context.

I wanted my task to be simple, but I also wanted my students to use the corpus themselves. So that they wouldn't need a teacher if they ever need to see how to use a word in a sentence. That's why I put the website on the worksheet with all the required steps to follow. You can go to the website I'm talking about clicking here. In the first panel, I asked them to find some examples to help them discover the rule. In the second panel, I wanted them to understand when they should use a causative sentence, so the aim was focusing on meaning. In the third panel, I made them write some new examples to practice the structure. In the fourth and last panel, I wanted them to ask their classmates a question that will make them form Causative sentences and at the same time, it's a chance for them to practice speaking and see if they are missing any points about the structure they have just learned. You can see the worksheet below.




Since this is the first material I have designed as a ''teacher'', I still have some concerns if I have missed anything or not. I'm open to any feedback! I would love it if you leave me some comments.

Thank you and see you next week!

Kommentare


bottom of page